

# KIWANIS CLUB PRESIDENT INSTRUCTIONS SOPHOMORE OF THE YEAR SCHOLARSHIP SOTY - 2024

Dear Texas-Oklahoma Kiwanis Club President:

The club instructions for this year's Sophomore of the Year Scholarship program follow. These forms are also available on the T-O Foundation website at www.tofoundation.com. This form and the scholarship application are sent to all T-O Kiwanis Club Presidents and Secretaries. If your division does not have a Lt. Governor, contact your Texas-Oklahoma District Trustee for instructions on where to forward your club's winning student application. Lt. Governor and District Trustee information is available on the District website or in the 2023-2024 District Directory. A Lt. Governor list that includes District Trustee contact information for Divisions without a Lt. Governor is part of this packet.

**Your high school will not receive applications.** Your club is responsible for seeing that forms are available to each of the high schools, public or parochial. Forms are available on the Foundation website, www.tofoundation.com. This scholarship is for ANY High School Sophomore, not just Key Club members.

Please encourage participation in this great program. The Texas-Oklahoma Foundation will name the winners at the TX-OK District Convention in August. This is a great program to encourage sophomores to start thinking about their college education and scholarship money. The value of this scholarship is \$600 and the Foundation awards up to 20 scholarships per year.

Please follow the guidelines below:

- 1. Give each school the website where they can download the forms and instructions.
- 2. Applications are due back to the student's school counselor by March 8th, 2024.
- 3. You, Your Youth Services Chairman or your designee should pick up completed applications no later than March 18, 2024. If spring break is during these times please retrieve the following Monday.

## KIWANIS CLUB PRESIDENT INSTRUCTIONS SOPHOMORE OF THE YEAR SCHOLARSHIP 2024

### (cont.)

- 4. Your club will pick one nominee to send to your Lt. Governor. You or your Youth Services Chair should fill in the name of your club, division number, and the name of your Lt. Governor at the bottom of the application, and that notification must be postmarked by April 30, 2024. If your division does not have a Lt. Governor, send the application to your Texas-Oklahoma District Trustee. The April 30, 2024 postmark date still applies. PLEASE CHECK TO MAKE SURE YOUR SELECTION MEETS THE GUIDELINES GIVEN. You are encouraged to notify students whose applications were not selected. If the application was rejected for "not in accordance with the instructions" that fact should be included in the reply.
- **5.** Your Lt. Governor or Trustee will determine one finalist from your Division, and send that application and certification form to the SOTY Chair.
- 6. The winners will be announced in August 2024 at the Kiwanis District Convention. Award letters and redemption instructions will be distributed at DCON. If you know there will not be a representative at DCON from your Division please get in touch with the chair afterwards for instructions.
- 7. Letters of regret will be sent to those not chosen for a scholarship at the District level. **Lt. Governors** should notify each club in their division which application is submitted to the SOTY Chair for judging at the district level. **Clubs** should notify their applicants about their choice.
- 8. The 2024 Sophomore of The Year Chair is:

## Christine Curtis-Carr 1366 Meander St. Abilene, TX79602-3540 (325) 261-1977 ccurtiscarr.kiwanis@gmail.com

#### DO NOT SEND APPLICATIONS TO THE DISTRICT OFFICE. SEND YOUR CLUB'S NOMINEE APPLICATION TO YOUR LT. GOVERNOR OR YOUR DISTRICT TRUSTEE, POSTMARKED BY APRIL 30, 2024. The Lt. Governor has another set of instructions.

APPLICATIONS RECEIVED AT THE DISTRICT OFFICE WILL BE DISQUALIFIED.

#### If your division does not have a Lt. Governor, contact your Regional Trustee!

Please take this opportunity to publicize your club's participation by submitting pictures and articles about the presentation in your local newspapers.

For the T-O Foundation,

Randy DeLay, President

2024 SOTY Presidents Packet and Program History.docx Page 2 of 3



Sophomore of the Year History

Walter Hurst was a long-time member of the Texas-Oklahoma Foundation Board and financial supporter of the Texas-Oklahoma Foundation.

He proposed and lobbied the Texas-Oklahoma Board for three years to start a scholarship fund for sophomores. Finally, in 1979-80\* they agreed to start the "Walter Hurst Sophomore of the Year Scholarship." In recent years, the program has normally been referred to as "Sophomore of the Year or SOTY."

The Scholarship award is not based on academics, but on leadership qualities. A goal is to seek out, recognize and develop leadership potential commencing with high school sophomores, and to encourage and prepare the next generation of civic and corporate leadership for America's future.

A second goal is to help sophomores gain experience and confidence in following written instructions when applying for scholarships.

A third goal is to educate people in the schools and communities about the Kiwanis organization. The number of scholarships awarded from year to year depends on the amount of money available from the Texas-Oklahoma Foundation. Each club in the District is asked to contribute a minimum of \$10 per member as an annual gift to the Foundation. Special recognition is given to District clubs for a gift of \$10 per member.

The District SOTY awardees will receive a congratulatory letter that includes instructions on how to redeem the award after enrolling in a college or university.

In addition to the scholarships given at the district level, many clubs award scholarships from their club fund. The Foundation requests that clubs giving scholarships use a name slightly different as to avoid confusion when the time comes for the students to receive their funds.

<sup>\*</sup>According to the late, Past Governor, Marvin Sapaugh, the first convention where the Sophomore of the Year Scholarship recipients were selected and recognized was the 1980 Texas-Oklahoma District Convention in Oklahoma City.

2024 SOTY Presidents Packet and Program History.docx Page  ${\bf 4}$  of  ${\bf 4}$